How Do I
Click to Home

Go To Search

City Council
The regular Council meeting is devoted to taking formal action on ordinances, resolutions and board or commission recommendations pending before the council. All citizens are encouraged to attend and participate in these meetings.
  • 7 p.m.
  • First and third Monday of each month
  • City Hall

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

About the Council
The work of the City Council is shared by five primary committees, including the Judiciary Committee, Finance Committee, Public Safety Committee, Public Works Committee, and the Labor Relations Committee. In addition, several other committees handle matters of specific interest related to insurance, economic development, and the lakefront and beach.
  • The Judiciary Committee handles matters of zoning, annexations, and general building and development activity.
  • The Finance Committee is responsible for matters of financial management.
  • The Public Safety Committee is responsible for recommending Council action in the general area of public safety.
  • The Public Works Committee concerns itself with the maintenance of the city’s streets, alleys, bridges, and water and sewer systems, and with the care and construction of public facilities.
  • The Economic Development Committee handles matters specifically concerning economic development and the business community.
  • The Insurance Committee is responsible for issues related to the city's insurance coverage.
  • The Labor Relations Committee consists of four Alderman and the Mayor and handles matters of personnel.

Opportunities are provided for informal visits with the council through ward meetings scheduled by the aldermen. The mayor communicates with residents through community briefings, newspaper articles, radio talk shows, and presentations before community organizations.

Committee Assignments
  • Bill Valko, Chair
  • Edith Newsome, Vice Chair
  • Sylvia Sims Bolton
  • Pat Seger
  • Larry TenPas

Public Works
  • Edith Newsome, Chair
  • Pat Seger, Vice Chair
  • Sylvia Sims Bolton
  • Lisa May
  • Larry TenPas

  • Ann Taylor, Chair
  • Greg Moisio, Vice Chair
  • Sylvia Sims Bolton
  • Edith Newsome
  • David Villalobos
  • Lisa May, Chair
  • David Villalbos, Vice Chair
  • Greg Moisio
  • Larry TenPas
  • Bill Valko

Labor Relations
  • Mayor Sam Cunningham, Chair
  • Larry TenPas, Vice Chair
  • Lisa May
  • Edith Newsome
  • Ann Taylor

Public Safety
  • Greg Moisio, Chair
  • Bill Valko, Vice Chair
  • Lisa May
  • Pat Seger
  • David Villalobos

Economic Development

  • Larry TenPas, Chair
  • Sylvia Sims Bolton, Vice Chair
  • Greg Moisio
  • Pat Seger
  • Bill Valko

Contact Us
City Clerks' Office
100 N. Martin Luther King Jr. Ave.
Waukegan, IL 60085

Ph: 847-599-2513
Fx: 847-360-9744